May 2014 | Office of the Provost

Staff Appreciation Event – June 12th

This year our staff appreciation event will take place on the lawn of Reynolda House. Drop by for lunch, games, music and fun anytime between 11:00 a.m. and 2:00 p.m.!

Contact Angie Jones for further information or questions.

President Hatch Elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences

The American Academy of Arts and Sciences has elected Nathan Hatch, president of Wake Forest University, among its newest members.

One of the nation’s most prestigious honorary societies, the Academy is also a leading center for independent policy research. Members contribute to Academy publications and studies of science and technology policy, energy and global security, social policy and American institutions, and the humanities, arts and education.

“It is a privilege to honor these men and women for their extraordinary individual accomplishments,” said Don Randel, chair of the Academy’s board of directors. “The knowledge and expertise of our members give the Academy a unique capacity – and responsibility – to provide practical policy solutions to the pressing challenges of the day. We look forward to engaging our new members in this work.”

The Academy membership encompasses over 4,600 Fellows and 600 Foreign Honorary Members and reflects the full range of disciplines and professions: mathematics, the physical and biological sciences, medicine, the social sciences and humanities, business, government, public affairs and the arts.

Members of the 2014 class include winners of the Nobel Prize; the Wolf Prize; the Pulitzer Prize; National Medal of the Arts; MacArthur, Guggenheim, and Fulbright Fellowships; and Grammy, Emmy, Oscar and Tony Awards.

“I’m thrilled to be named to one of the oldest and most prestigious honorary societies in America,” said President Nathan Hatch. “To join the company of such extraordinary leaders is an honor and a privilege.”

The new class will be inducted at a ceremony on October 11, 2014, at the Academy’s headquarters in Cambridge, Massachusetts.

Since its founding in 1780, the Academy has elected leading “thinkers and doers” from each generation — from its founders John Adams, James Bowdoin, Benjamin Franklin, Thomas Jefferson and George Washington to Ralph Waldo Emerson, Maria Mitchell and Alexander Graham Bell.

Other distinguished members include Margaret Mead, Jonas Salk, Barbara McClintock, John F. Kennedy, Martin Luther King Jr., Aaron Copland, Martha Graham, John Updike, Georgia O’Keeffe, and John Hope Franklin.

Foreign members have included Charles Darwin, Albert Einstein, Winston Churchill, Laurence Olivier, Mary Leakey, John Maynard Keynes, Akira Kurosawa and Nelson Mandela.

The current membership includes more than 250 Nobel laureates and more than 60 Pulitzer Prize winners.

A complete list of the new members is available on the Academy’s website at

Awards for Innovative Teaching

Congratulations to the recipients of the Teaching and Learning Center 2014 Teaching Innovation Awards.

  • T.H.M. Gellar-Goad, teacher/scholar/post-doc fellow in classical languages
  • Lynn S. Neal, associate professor of religion
  • D. Stokes Piercy, assistant teaching professor in communication
  • Jeremy Rouse, assistant professor of mathematics
  • Ron Von Burg, assistant professor of communication

Jennifer Collins, associate provost for academic initiatives and law professor, presented the awards at an April 30 luncheon held in the recipients’ honor.

This award recognizes the effort put forth by faculty who have redesigned their courses or introduced new courses, using new methods or innovative approaches to applying the research on learning to the practice of teaching.

WFU Forms Verger Capital Management

Recently, the Board of Trustees approved a plan in conjunction with Wake Forest’s chief investment officer, Jim Dunn, to form an external for-profit asset capital management company called Verger Capital Management LLC, or Verger, for short. Verger will serve as Wake Forest’s outsourced CIO solution and ultimately replace the function of Wake Forest University’s Office of Investments.  Jim Dunn has transitioned from his role as Wake Forest’s chief investment officer to become the Chief Executive Officer of Verger, and the Office of Investments employees will become employees of Verger.

As an outsourced solution, Wake Forest anticipates that Verger will provide access to additional investment opportunities, provide better access to best-in-class managers, and provide a solution for rising management, operational and administrative costs at the endowment level.

The move to an outsourced CIO solution for Wake Forest has been under discussion for several years, but recent trends in the investment industry and prospective growth show the timing is right for a transition.  Smaller foundations and endowments have been moving towards an outsourced chief investment officer model, and industry analysts are projecting significant growth in this market over the next five years.

Lynn Sutton Appointed Vice Provost

Dean of Z. Smith Reynolds Library Lynn Sutton has been appointed Vice Provost. Effective July 1, Sutton will move into the role currently held by Jennifer Collins, who will become the dean of Southern Methodist University’s law school.

Sutton will remain in her library dean position during the coming year, with members of her wonderfully capable senior library staff assuming more day-to-day responsibilities for ZSR operations. A search advisory committee will be formed in the fall to choose a successor as dean of ZSR Library.

For more information, click here.