Wake Forest Awards

Wake Forest offers a number of awards to distinguished faculty, staff, alumni, and friends of the University.  We are proud to showcase the winners of these awards with information about each award as well as a listing of previous recipients.

The Medallion of Merit

The Medallion of Merit is the highest honor given by Wake Forest and is presented annually for outstanding achievement and distinguished contribution to the University.  Previous recipients include presidents of the University, trustees, benefactors and retired faculty and administrators.

Current Recipients: James BarefieldProfessor of History; Herman Eure (Ph.D. ’74), Professor of Biology

The Undergraduate Research and Creative Activities Center Award

This award is presented annually to two faculty members who demonstrate excellence in the mentoring of undergraduate students.

Current Recipients: Patricia Nixon, Department of Health and Exercise Science, and Stewart Carter, Department of Music

The Kulynych Family Omicron Delta Kappa Award

This award was established in 1982 by the Wake Forest Circle of Omicron Delta Kappa to recognize an outstanding faculty member who bridges the gap between the classroom and student life.  The recipient must contribute beyond the expected duties of teaching and research.  In 1997, the award was endowed by the Kulynych Family Foundation and the name was changed to honor the Kulynych family.

Current Recipient: Oana Jurchescu, Department of Physics

The Marcellus E. Waddill Excellence in Teaching Award

This award is given annually to two Wake Forest alumni/ae who are exemplary classroom teachers in public or private schools.  The award was established in 1994 in honor of Marcellus Waddill, professor of mathematics from 1962 to 1997.  Founded by his son David, the Waddill Award provides one of the largest monetary prizes of any teacher-recognition program in the country.Current Recipients: Laura Bilton (’01), a second grade teacher at Old Town Elementary School and Jon Williams (’95), a  social studies teacher at McMichael High School   (pictured).For additional information about Dr. Waddill and the establishment of the Waddill Award, please visit the Waddill informational page.

Joseph Branch Excellence in Teaching Award

The award was established in 1985 to honor Chief Justice Joseph Branch upon his retirement from the North Carolina Supreme Court. Recipients are chose on the basis of outstanding teaching and service to the legal profession.

Donald O. Shoonmaker Faculty Award for Community Service

The award was established in 1988 by the Wake Forest Alumni Council to recognize extraordinary community service of a respected teacher-scholar from the College or the Calloway School of Business and Accountancy. The award is named in memory of Professor of Politics Donald Schoonmaker.

Current Recipient: Christina Soriano, Department of Theatre and Dance

Award for Excellence in Research

This award is presented annually to an outstanding young scholar in the College who is either an assistant professor or is in his or her fourth year or less as an associate professor. The award’s monetary prize is made possible through support from the Alumni Association.

Current Recipient: Amanda Jones, Department of Chemistry

Reid-Doyle Prize for Excellence in Teaching

The award recognizes a faculty member in the College in the early part of his or her career. The award was established in 1971 and renamed in 1986 in recognition of the generosity of the late Wilbur Doyle who endowed the prize to honor his philosophy professor, A.C. Reid.

Current Recipient: Michael Sloan, Department of Classical Languages 

Jon Reinhardt Award for Distinguished Teaching

The award recognizes an experienced member of the College faculty, distinguished as a teacher in the broadest sense of the word and for exemplifying the ideals of a liberal arts education.

Current Recipient: Gloria K. Muday, Department of Biology

Award for Excellence in Advising

The Award for Excellence in Advising is presented each year at New Student Convocation. The award celebrates faculty or staff members who demonstrate excellence in undergraduate advising.

Current Recipients: Betsy Chapman, Director of Parent Programs and Al Rives, Associate Teaching Professor in Chemistry