Wake Forest College Awards

Donald O. Shoonmaker Faculty Award for Community Service

The award was established in 1988 by the Wake Forest Alumni Council to recognize extraordinary community service of a respected teacher-scholar from the College or the Calloway School of Business and Accountancy. The award is named in memory of Professor of Politics Donald Schoonmaker.

Current Recipient: Mary Dalton, Professor, Departments of Communication and Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies

Award for Excellence in Research

This award is presented annually to an outstanding young scholar in the College who is either an assistant professor or is in his or her fourth year or less as an associate professor. The award’s monetary prize is made possible through support from the Alumni Association.

Current Recipients: Jennifer Erway, Professor, Department of Mathematics;/em>Oana Jurchescu, Professor, Department of Physics

Reid-Doyle Prize for Excellence in Teaching

The award recognizes a faculty member in the College in the early part of his or her career. The award was established in 1971 and renamed in 1986 in recognition of the generosity of the late Wilbur Doyle who endowed the prize to honor his philosophy professor, A.C. Reid.

Current Recipient: Timo Thonhauser, Associate Professor, Department of Physics

Jon Reinhardt Award for Distinguished Teaching

The award recognizes an experienced member of the College faculty, distinguished as a teacher in the broadest sense of the word and for exemplifying the ideals of a liberal arts education.

Current Recipient: Anne Boyle, Associate Professor, Department of English and Department of Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies; Associate Dean for Student-Faculty Academic Initiatives

Award for Excellence in Advising

The Award for Excellence in Advising is presented each year at New Student Convocation. The award celebrates faculty or staff members who demonstrate excellence in undergraduate advising.

Current Recipients: Betsy Chapman, Director of Parent Programs and Al Rives, Associate Teaching Professor in Chemistry